Christoph & Sebastian

German Intended Parents Searching for a Gestational Surrogate

Location: Waiblingen, Germany
Clinic: CReATe
Embryo Status: 15 frozen PGS tested embryos
Occupations: Communications expert at the state bank of Baden-Württemberg (Christoph) / consultant / assistant to the management at the Federal Employment Agency (Sebastian)

Quick facts 

  • Been together for 9 amazing years, married for 7
  • Born and raised in Germany, now living in a nice apartment with a huge garden just a few minutes away from Sebastian's parents.
  • Both share a love of friends, family, gardening, food, board games, music (!), and handcrafted things.
  • Sebastian is the maker and thinker who loves gathering as many friends as possible around our dining table to cook for them the whole night. He tends to give more then he gets. At the moment he's a little obsessed by growing vegetables in the garden.
  • Christoph is the outgoing one, sometimes too funny (Sebastian says ;-) ) who loves to be around people, building a strong network in our neighborhood, and who is strangely passionate about digital gadgets.
  • As a couple we are a strong unit. We do fight and argue every now and then as everybody does, but do have a strong sense for the "we" and to really open up to each other. We grew from individuals to partners over time and are ready now to grow further to family.
  • More pictures on our website: sebastian-and-christoph.com

 

About Us

Sebastian: In 2013 in August we had our first date after chatting for two days. Christoph had plans for the upcoming weekend. He wanted to visit a friend in Munich. So I asked him to meet me at the airport before he took off. For the second date I picked him up at the airport 😊. That’s how it started. Two years later we got married.

Christoph: We both always wanted to start a family. We even talked about it during our date at the airport. I think it was Sebastian’s 3rd or 4th question. For some this might have been a showstopper at that early stage, but for me it was one the many reasons I fell in love with him.

Sebastian: In our family I’m the chef. I‘ve loved to cook since I was little. I literally grew up in the kitchens of my family. Cooking and baking are such great activities to do with kids. Food is super important to me and I am interested in various topics related to it: quality, restaurants, different cuisines, healthy nutrition and so on. And I am a bit obsessed by cook books. My collection consists of around 60 …

I grew up surrounded by a very loving family, although my parents got divorced when I was 5. I spent a lot of time with my grandparents and my grandma. This year my grandma turns 81 and let me tell you: she is very curious about meeting her great-grandchild. 😊

I have strong values: be brave, be reliable, and be honest. I think it’s important to always give your best.

Christoph: Most important to me is loyalty, empathy and reliability. I am a bit obsessed with nest building – that started way before we decided to start a family. A cozy home was always super important to me. Maybe this is because I grew up as the youngest of three and was always cuddled, hearted, and comforted by everyone in my family.

My mother died shortly after we got married 7 years ago. It makes me sad to know that our child will not feel her love, but at the same time I can’t wait to create such a cozy and loving atmosphere for our child.

Christoph & Sebastian: We live in a beautiful region in the south of Germany with vineyards, rivers, a lot of nature and charming villages. We live just one village away from Sebastian’s parents. It’s amazing to have family so close. We see each other a lot and do have regular lunch, dinner or coffee dates. We also decided to move close to them to make sure we can take care of them when they get older. And we have our child’s grandparents around and always available for him/her.

Life is short and we always try to make the best out of it. We like to stay healthy with running and to stay flexible with yoga. Being outside is important to us but we also enjoy domestic life and time together at home. We‘ve developed a good balance between our work and life.

Our apartment has a huge garden and we love spending time there. The project for this year is to start growing some vegetables. Right now, we planted edible flowers, onions, peas, beans, and salad. It is so cool to see it grow day by day.

Sebastian: I have a secure job at the Federal Employment Agency where I consult and assist one of the managers. A good life-work balance is crucial to me. I am looking forward to spending as much time as possible with our child.

Christoph: I am a communication expert at the state bank of Baden-Württemberg. I found my professional sweet spot in internal communications. I enjoy bringing employees together, to help develop a strong team spirit and a good work environment.

Christoph & Sebastian: We started our journey towards becoming parents researching about adoption, but it turns out that in Germany this is still quite difficult for same-sex couples (which we find unfortunate not only on a private level).

The relationship with our surrogate should be a respectful friendship. We hope to find a woman we want to be friends with, want to share pictures, stories, excitements, and fears as well. It is her journey as well as it is ours and it is super important to feel comfortable with each other.

We want to be emotionally and financially present throughout the whole process. We would love to be present at doctor’s appointments via facetime. We plan to visit Canada during the pregnancy and of course will be there before the delivery. It is important to us to keep in touch after the baby is born. We both think that our child should be aware of its heritage and the wonderful women who helped to bring her/him into the world.

If you are interested and curious about us, you can find more pictures on our website www.sebastian-and-christoph.com.

Christoph & Sebastian